Welcome Guest! To enable all features please try to register or login.
4 Part Basic Clothing Tutorial
Celendra_S1
#1 Posted : Wednesday, September 21, 2022 4:54:27 PM(UTC)

Medals:
I originally wrote this tutorial for a friend who wanted to make some tattoos for himself. I don't know if he ever did, this might have scared him off LOL.

But I thought it might be useful posted here, as these questions seem to come up a lot and this is kind of a "starter overview" of the process.

Keep in mind that I am mostly self-taught, so if I got anything wrong in here a) feel free to correct it and b) blame who taught me (that would be me). LOL.

I highly recommend getting familiar with the graphics tool of your choice (Photoshop , Gimp, or Paintshop Pro, whatever) BEFORE tackling this. I tend to go headfirst into things and didn't do that, so I caused myself a lot of grief at first, as when I started making clothes I couldn't draw a straight line with Photoshop.

This will be long so I've broken it into 4 parts: 1) getting the tools you need, 2) preparing and uploading a texture, 3) upload options and 4) finalizing and distributing an outfit.

I also recommend working through the process just once even with a blank mesh (just the lines) - it will become a lot clearer.

Part 1: Getting the tools you need (and what the files are)

Go to the Social Center and click the Clothing tab that is in between the "Gifts" and "Property" tabs (not the one in the upper right).
About a third of the way down the page, under a bolded header that says "My Designed Clothing" you should see 2 buttons. One says "Designer Kit (Download)" and the other says "Texture Pack (Download)".
Grab both of these. The Designer Kit is what you need but the Texture Pack is interesting to look at.

They both download in .rar format - Winzip will open them, as will 7-zip (free) if you don't have Winzip.

I suggest you put them in separate directories before you uncrunch them.