Welcome Guest! To enable all features please try to register or login.
Best recipes and tips for practicing techniques, seasoning and usage of spices?
douglasgray
#1 Posted : Tuesday, April 16, 2024 6:56:35 AM(UTC)

I'm a passionate home cook who is also planning to go to culinary school at some point. I've been cooking as a serious hobby (so not only to feed myself) for about 1.5 years and I've gotten really comfortable preparing many of my favorite dishes.

I've always enjoyed trying out new recipes but it's really daunting for me to first of all find new dishes to prepare and then researching many different recipes to try and find optimal ones. Now I'm looking for recipes that give me an opportunity to practice multiple different techniques. Also looking for recipes that are on the intermediate/harder side so there i can challenge myself and improve. I don't mind recipes that are labour intensive or time consuming. My favorite cuisines are chinese, indian, italian and spanish but I'm willing to try anything new.

Last thing is that i would highly prefer more affordable recipes, since I'm a broke-ish student. Pork, chicken, salmon, minced beef etc are proteins that are available and affordable for me. Steaks, shellfish, lamb or some of the more rare proteins cost way too much here.
1 user thanked douglasgray for this useful post.
divingA_WnC on 4/16/2024(UTC)
divingA_WnC
#2 Posted : Wednesday, April 17, 2024 12:58:00 AM(UTC)

Medals:
Hello douglasray,

I finally have time to answer your questions here, which I had the pleasure of reading last night in the last few minutes before my night shift.